RSS Feed

✄ DIY Retro 1950s Starburst/Atomic T-Shirt ✄

✄ DIY Retro 1950s Starburst/Atomic T-Shirt ✄

Can’t wait to do this one!

The Crafty Gentleman

I don’t know what it is about the styles of the fifties and sixties that captures my imagination so much. I love this era. The patterns, decor, music… how did it ever go out of fashion?!

Retro 1950s Starburst Pattern Inspiration: Retro 1950s Starburst Pattern

Retro 1950s Starburst Pattern Inspiration: Retro 1950s Starburst Pattern

I’ve already written a DIY post about how a 50s atomic print inspired me to use fabric paint to make a retro style T-shirt (read here). Recently, I thought I’d try another approach to replicating a 50s inspired print onto a plain t-shirt – this time simply using my sewing machine! Here’s how I did it.

What you’ll need

  • A plain T-shirt
  • Pastel coloured cotton off-cuts
  • Fabric glue
  • Black thread

What to do

  1. Cut a few circles from the pastel cotton. They don’t need to be perfect, just loose circles approximately 2-3 inches in diameter.
  2. Pin these to your T-shirt, well spaced…

View original post 218 more words

Leave a Reply

